Duration: 15 Nights/16 Days

Places: Tokyo → Hakone → Kyoto → Hiroshima → Osaka → Tokyo

Day 1-5: Tokyo

Tokyo is the capital of Japan and one of the most populous metropolitan areas in the world. Tokyo is also a major transportation hub, a world economic and industrial centre. Tokyo is famous for its numerous museums, theatres, festivals, internationally noted cuisine and professional sports clubs. It’s also a city rich in music and theatre, with numerous venues featuring everything from Japanese to modern dramas, symphony orchestras, and pop and rock concerts. There are many interesting tourist attractions: Imperial Palace, Ginza District, Asakusa and the Senso-ji temple, Ueno Park and Zoo, National Museum, The Meiji Shrine and Skytree etc.

Day 6/7: Hakone

Hakone is situated approximately 100 kms from Tokyo and is designated as a Geopark by UNESCO. Among others, it is famous for its hot springs, its natural beauty and the view of Mt. Fuji. The town’s economy is mainly dependent on the tourism sector. Hakone is also known for the Shinto Shrine, the Hakone Gongen, which is mentioned in the Heian period. Other beautiful sights include the volcanically active Owakudani geysers as well as the Hakone Botanical Gargen of Wetlands. In April, the cherry blossoms (sakura) and in autumn the Miscanthus sinensis (susuki) are notable sights that attract both Japanese and international tourists to this town.

Day 8-10: Kyoto

Kyoto, ancient capital of Japan and home to 17 World Heritage temples, shrines and castles is also known for formal traditions such as kaiseki dining, consisting of multiple courses of precise dishes, and geishas, female entertainers often found in the Gion district. There are said to be over 1000 Buddhist temples in Kyoto. Visit Ryoanji Temple for its tranquil zen rock garden or enjoy the view from the top of Kiyomizu-dera Temple. In the west part of the city, an extensive bamboo grove in Arashiyama offers a therapeutic walking route. Another magical sight is the Fushimi Inari Shrine, which has thousands of vermillion torii gates on a hill.

Day 11/12: Hiroshima

Hiroshima is the capital of Hiroshima Prefecture and the city names means “Broad Island” in Japanese. This city is perhaps best known as the first city in history to be targeted by a nuclear weapon when the USA Air Force dropped an atomic bomb on the city (World War II). However, Hiroshima is now a modern, cosmopolitan city with excellent cuisine and a bustling nightlife. Hiroshima is best known for its scenic Itsukushima Temple that has a large torii gate floating in the sea. The other World Heritage site Hiroshima Peace Memorial is well visited too. Hiroshima is home to its unique okonomiyaki pancake as well as locally farmed oysters which are large and tasty.

Day 13-15: Osaka

Osaka is Japan’s second largest metropolitan area after Tokyo and has been the economic powerhouse of the Kansai region for many centuries. During the ancient times, the city was known as the “nation’s kitchen” and served as a centre for rice trading. There are countless places to visit during your stay in the city: the Tennoji/Abeno area with its large shopping malls, Tsutenkaku area for a taste of the old downtown, and the Bay Area for the world’s largest aquarium and Universal Studios. During your visit, try the local cuisine (Kuromon food market), such as takoyaki, okonomiyaki, and tecchiri.

Day 16: Tokyo

Transfer to Tokyo and proceed to onward destination.